NEW SITKA Ambient 75

Elk -still hunting or cover ground?

huntfishcamp

Im pretty new to the elk scene (second yr) and curious what opinions are out there as far as tactics, preffered method still hunting / glassing, or stay in the timber-stop often and looking for sign, or walk the timber edges and cover miles during mid day, one in the woods and one out (theres just 2 of us) Also curious how long in AM and PM should one spend glassing before you assume they are holed up for the day and start wearing out some leather? Last year we still hunted areas in teh AM and PM we saw sign, but had better luck just hoofing it and covering miles and miles, but we got lucky.

Im a huge fan of covering as much ground as I can. The farther away from other hunters the better off you are. Look for fresh sign and aspin pockets or thick timder and call a little. If nothing comes in keep hiking! Good luck this year let us know how you do!

I find I am not more silent then the darn elk can detect... I still do it though I push out more elk then I can get a beed on. One that I try to follow on tactics tries to hold me back from hiking from here to hell and back... His advise, and when I can hold myself to his "sage" thoughts on the subject - Pick my clear cuts / parks - get to an area to glass and SIT, SIT and SIT. Glassing the areas and developing the strategy from there when / if something is spotted. Give it a certain time and during the warmer time - route to another park identified and do the same...

I seem much more successful doing such then sneaking around trying to get onto them before they get onto me.

A couple areas are nice for still hunting and I am sure the better I get at it - the less odor I have emitting, the better off I am and my chances increase. We still hit those spots though I tend to see the ass end of the elk before I can get a clean shot.

Best of success in your hunt!