Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

Elk Hunting conundrum

glennw89

Looking to tap into the collective knowledge here again. I posted two weeks ago about the initial research I was doing for a non-resident elk hunt in the fall of 2021. Unfortunately, financial circumstances have meant that I've had to cancel that semester long leave from work (high school teacher). This was a pretty bitter pill as an elk hunt remains something I have wanted to pursue since I was a youngster (39 years old now).

Being a high school teacher I don't have the option of taking time off work in typical September, October, and November time frames. I would be able to hunt late summer till September 1 and again in late December till early January (my Christmas Holiday break).

I know the Roosevelt elk season in Washington State is open in late August and from what I know there are some southwestern states (Arizona I think) that offer late December hunts.

Any other options that folks are aware of?

I hunt with rifle, bow, and muzzleloader and would consider any of the three. Ideally I would be hunting bull elk, but trophy size is not a consideration to me. I'm perfectly at home in the backcountry so a more remote/physical hunt would be fine.

Thanks for any assistance in advance.

Late Season Cow elk in Wyoming? We did a cow hunt over Christmas/New Years break one time. Probably plenty of other cow seasons across the West that time of the year.

Yeah, basically early archery. Utah is another option there. Or late cow in many states.

I'm a teacher too, and I know how tough it can be. I take all of my yearly allotted personal time and usually some unpaid days to be able to hunt. But it's always worth it. Always. I'm not sure where in the country you'd be coming from, but if you were able to take five days, book-ended by a couple weekends, you could have a decent little chunk of time to hunt.