Election gun buying, 300wsm suggestions tips and substitutions

Elkmagnet

So after cuddling up to an ar15 and blocking our president on Twitter I was able to get some sleep last night. Interestingly I awoke with an urge to buy a new hunting rifle.
I have been contemplating one for a couple of years because I am seeing the groups in my browning A bolt medallion 300 win mag get bigger every year. (Reloads were sub moa are now 2 moa) I have a few thousand rounds through it and it was used when I got it 19 years ago. It also recently had a horse wreck that cracked the stock and frankly it doesn't fit my style of hunting anymore. It has been a great gun and has a lot of sentimental value but I feel its time to move on. I don't want to spend money on a new stock and face an imminent rebarrel that is problematic being an A bolt.

That said I am really thinking about a 300 wsm or maybe a 280ai....
First what I am wanting in a gun is a hunting rifle that can be carried easily enough on a horse. Not really into long shots but I want something that will reliably expand mono bullets at 500 yards. Im probably going to start loads with barnes lrx bullets. I am not recoil shy and have substantial trigger time so I would also like the gun to be sub 7.5#.
I am currently picking 300wsm for its performance in a 24" barrel its short action and the fact that I have a good stash of .30 cal projectiles and powders that may work well. The 26" barrel on my 300wm is one of the things that I want to move away from.
I want a gun with enough twist to stabilize higher b.c. monos if possible.

My current favorite is the kimber montana in 300wsm.
24" 1 in 10 barrel and an action that is tailored to the wsm cartridges.
Although I'm wondering about the mag c.o.a.l. limit with mono bullets?

Close second kimber montana in 280ai because it sounds cool and should do what Im asking.

Third is the winchester M70 AW SS in 300 wsm.