Drag or Pack Out?

I'm hunting a small piece of public land starting Tuesday (I have a special permit that allows me to hunt a piece of land that normally forbids hunting). Based on where the deer are hanging out, I'm expecting a roughly 1.5 mile trip to the truck (relatively level ground) if things go well.

I'll be the first to admit that I'm a novice at field dressing. The one antelope I've downed with my bow I had a buddy gut in like 10 minutes and we had the truck right there.

As a result, I'm wondering if I should do the gutless method and pack out or try to drag the deer back to the truck. I'm going to be hunting solo, so I'm also wondering if there are any contraptions that I can use to get a whole muley buck into the truck. For the gutless method, I've watched about every video on the internet about it and I'm wondering if someone can give me an estimate of how long it would take a total noob to do a deer. I'm a little worried about taking a shot in the afternoon and starting the process as I'm losing light. I have a decent headlamp and extra batteries should it come to that.

For the record normally I wouldn't ask, but I was out there scouting yesterday and saw a giant. I did a "dress rehearsal" stalk and got to 52 yards before him and his buddy noticed me. They didn't bolt and continued feeding. At that point, I backed off and let them continue eating.

I usually drag a deer if it’s short distance, but have begun to favor quartering, especially if it’s a long distance out. And I’ve done it by headlamp light several times.

Just make sure that you have game bags (I use thrift store pillow cases) and a good backpack. I have a bad back, so the angle of hanging over the deer is far worse than carrying it on my back using a backpack with good straps and a kidney belt.

I am done field dressing. Even if I can drive to it.

I will skin and quarter on the spot. It fits easier in the truck, and less waste when I get home.