Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Colorado OTC Archery Elk 2020

SEKHunter

Planning an OTC archery elk hunt in CO mid-September. I am new to this forum as well as new to elk hunting so I'm interested in any relative information I can get. I've looked at other forums and have noticed that most everyone on here is willing to help out fellow hunters rather than make it seem impossible and unwelcoming for a new guy. I've done quite a bit of research and have narrowed it down to units 11, 21, 22, 211, and 65. The main information that I'm looking for is the archery and muzzleloader hunter density in these area's during mid-September. I'm aware of the substantial elevation change between the first four units and unit 65 and have read that elk are usually higher in elevation during this time of year, but I was also curious if the first four units have the elk numbers this time of year, given the elevation. Like I said I'm just a newbie so I'm open to any helpful information and trying to start a new addiction, so take it easy on me 😂

I think there are a few threads on 65 if you just enter it into the search bar. I will be hunting OTC too this year.

No clue on those units but if your wondering if elk will be there in bow season go on the CO hunting atlas and look for the summer range areas.

As stated above the Colorado hunting Atlas provides a great starting point. While there are hunters like crazy, I would also suggest 421. If this is your first time coming into CO for an OTC hunt, they grand mesa provides what I think is good country to learn in. Feel free to PM me and I can show you how I use the atlas to research my units and point you in the right direction. I may not be able to lead you to a the biggest bull but if your goal is to come out, have a good time, see some elk and learn then I think you can be successful on your hunt in those terms. With a little luck perhaps you can tag an elk.