Choosing a game camera

thatsjet

I'm still a hunting newbie but I'm wondering how many folks use game cameras for hunting elk and I have a few questions if you do:
  • Are cellular cameras worth it if I live nearby (2 hours) and can get out to scout/move them?
  • Are expensive cameras worth it which means I'll buy only one, or are cheaper cameras/fewer features best so I can get more than one?
  • How often should you check them/how long do you leave them where they are before you move them?
So many questions... thanks for any input.

I only use them for whitetails in NY... Ive had good luck on my property with Browning. My buddy has the ones u can check on your phone on our lease.... Gets hard to work during the rut constantly refreshing

Cell cams are illegal in several states now.
They have come quite a ways now and an expensive one is not necessary. Get a quick trigger speed and no glow or black out that has no visible light when it triggers.

I have 5 Bushnell HD. I have posted lots of pics from them. Most important is battery life. I get over 5,000 pics plus and 2 years in hot and cold weather with lithium batteries. Take 16 each but last for at least 2 years.