Buy new duck decoys or fix old ones

RyeGuy74

I'm new to waterfowl hunting so this may be a dumb questions to the waterfowl veterans who see this but is it better to buy new decoys or fix old ones. I have an opportunity to trade for some pintail decoys but they're old, dull, two of the drakes have tails broken off, and all of them have to be rigged up. I am not opposed to doing the work if it's worth it. Thanks in advance!

I'm new to waterfowl hunting so this may be a dumb questions to the waterfowl veterans who see this but is it better to buy new decoys or fix old ones. I have an opportunity to trade for some pintail decoys but they're old, dull, two of the drakes have tails broken off, and all of them have to be rigged up. I am not opposed to doing the work if it's worth it. Thanks in advance!
Buy new. Get fully flocked ones, avian makes fully flocked black ducks. You will not regret it. I'll use 6 of those over 100 of anything else and draw more birds in

0% of my limited duck hunting has been done over decoys, but when I look at antique decoys that led to the near extirpation of North America's waterfowl I can't help but think fancy decoys are to attract hunters' dollars rather than ducks.

I agree, considering how much time and effort we already put into this stuff new decoys are worth it. Especially with how much time it takes to get old decoys touched up to look some what decent.

If you run massive spreads pick up the old ones and just throw them in for fillers.

0% of my limited duck hunting has been done over decoys, but when I look at antique decoys that led to the near extirpation of North America's waterfowl I can't help but think fancy decoys are to attract hunters' dollars rather than ducks.
Waterfowl hunting pressure is not the same so you are comparing apples to oranges.

It does really depend on the area you are hunting though.