Boise Chukar

NickOnTheRun

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the Boise area and upland hunting in general. I've been working the Owhyee's for a few outings and I've run across huns and quail but I've yet to see any chukar. Any advice on areas for late-season chukar nearish to Boise? I've been to Silver City area a few times and little jack's creek/ mudflat road area. Any areas you're willing to share would be greatly appreciated. I'm working with a 1 year old Vizsla puppy so I'd just like to get him on some birds before the season is over. He's not trained well enough for us to have great success this season but I'd like to get him into some conveys. The plan is to have him trained well enough to have better luck next season.

Riggins is just 2 hours. If you are training either get some birds of your own or find a plantation...

Here's the shooting preserves. Full list: https://idfg.idaho.gov/hunt/shooting/preserves

• 2C Pheasant Hunts LLC / Pheasant, Chukar
    – Jerry Payne, 27333 Fountain Rd. Parma, ID 83660 - (208) 880-0997
  • K Bar T Ranch LLC / Pheasant
    – Rick and Leatha Thayer, 35 miles east of Boise - (208) 249-8831
  • Lazy Bear Ranch, LLC / Pheasant, Chukar, Quail
    – Tim Wrightman, 612 Unity Lane, Weiser, ID - (208) 550-0440

I was going to suggest the Riggins area. It is very rugged country.

If you can afford it I think the pay-to-hunt outfits would be good place to get a young dog started. Farm raised chukars aren't real bright so you should be able to get your pup some easy close work.

Nick , once you feel like you have given your dog enough of the "easy" success you might look at Northern Nevada if you don't mind paying for an out of state license. Winnemucca and Battle Mountain are kinda chukar central. Eastern Oregon along the Owyhee river near Rome is chukar country too. Chukar are the only species that thrives on cheatgrass. Riggins and the Salmon river is like the sadistic chukar terrain. Same for Imnaha, and the Idaho side of the Snake river.