MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Anybody have a good jerky recipe for the oven?

Southern Elk

My son wants to make some jerky out of his deer and I’ve never done it before. Anybody have a good recipe for the oven?

I slice whole muscles into strips and use Hi Mountain brand seasoning. We like the Cajun flavor but I double or even triple the spice portion to kick up the heat.

I like this recipe and it has oven directions too. I usually do 200 and pop the door open slightly so there is airflow. You want to dry, not cook the jerky. Keep your eye on it, when it looks and feels like jerky (dry, pliable, not brittle) it’s done.

I always liked the twist tear to tell when it’s done

Salt pepper and garlic is a good simple base. If you like teriyaki, soak it in some soy sauce and a little worcestershire. For a few hours. Set the oven as low as it will go and start checking it after a couple hours. The thickness of cut and how wet you leave the meat if you marinated it makes a being difference on how long it takes to dry.

Long time jerky eater, first time maker here.

I just finished mixing up about 20lbs of elk in different batches that are marinating in the fridge. Two are Hank Shaw’s and pretty easy to find online. One is the chipotle (which has apparently won some recipe awards) and the other is his pemmican. Neither was tricky to make the seasoning for. The prior is whole cut strips, the latter has been ground and will be going into a jerky gun I found for $20 at Sportsman’s. Worth a gander if you want to try something beyond the packet (I also made a batch of that in Jamaican jerk tonight too).

I use the Hi Mountain cure and season it with whatever flavors sound the best at the time. S,P,G is obviously an easy favorite. Or just season it like you would a steak or a roast. I do feel like the curing process and 1/4” thick strips yields the best results. Oven as low as it will go, with the door propped open with a wooden spoon.