All around new hunter from Montana

Dzlmech

I was a little hesitant posting in the new guy forum cause it can be intimidating. But here I go.
My name is Jack I am a transplant from Northern California to Kalispell, MT now. I’ve been in Montana now for 11 years. And I had never hunted before the 2013 season. It all kind of started when an old roommate made bear stew from a bear he had harvested. After having that I knew I wanted to be able to find my own food. After that, my girlfriend at the time (now my wife) enrolled in the hunters education and completed that so we could hunt starting the 2013 season.
The both of us have been incredibly fortunate in our hunting experiences as we don’t have any real mentors. Neither one of us have any family whatsoever that hunt. So we are completely self taught. I spend lots of time watching hunting shows and listening to experiences. We have been fortunate to harvest an animal each every year we’ve been hunting. I myself have also harvested two wonderful bears, ones a funny story, but they are by far my favorite meat. We consider ourselves mule deer hunters as we love the elevation that they spend their time at here in the northwest.
Four years ago, we walk into a cabelas in post falls and my wife says “I want to shoot a bow” I was like really? Sure sounds like fun. Well naturally we end up buying her an entry level bear bow, and after she is shooting it in the yard and stuff for a couple weeks I’m like that does look like fun so I find an old Mathews mq1 bow for sale super cheap. We spend the next year messing around and taking bow hunters education, which let me tell you is far more informative to a new hunter than regular hunters Ed. Both of us have since upgraded bows to allow us to chase these mysterious wapiti.