7mm-08 ttsx 150gr

Red_7.08

I’ve recently read that the 150 gr ttsx is not a good round for the 7-08 d/t not having the velocity for this bullet to fully expand. That the 120 gr or even the 140 gr is needed. Anybody here have good success loading the 150 gr ttsx for the 7-08?

The biggest problem that I've had with Barnes monolithic bullets has been recovering them. They almost always pass right through and keep on going. I've been shooting them in my muzzleloader for ten years now. I started out with Barnes 45 caliber 250 Gr. TEZ sabot bullets at around 1600 FPS and now shoot the 250 Gr. Expander MZ at the same velocity. The few that I have recovered have expanded perfectly. I often can't find the exit wound on deer that I have shot until I skin them. The bullets make a small exit wound and often leave a flap of skin covering it. The internal damage done by these bullets was devastating. I recovered the heart from a deer that I shot in 2019 and it wasn't until I got home and cleaned the heart that I realized that the bullet had blown out the bottom of it. I got the bright idea that I would try to recover some of the bullets by shooting them through bales of compressed cellulose fiber insulation. I found that the bullets would pass through two bales with no problem. I didn't want to put anything hard behind the bales for fear of deforming the bullets. Insulation bales are a lot cheaper then ballistic gelatin and don't freeze. Unfortunately, they don't stop bullets either.

I'm no help with the 150 but I use a lot of barnes bullets in a variety of calibers. In general, you want to shoot a barnes mono that is about 20% lighter than the standard weight cup and core bullet for the caliber. This is so the length of the bullet is comparable to a lead core bullet and will stabilize. For example, I shoot an 80 gr ttsx out of my 243, where the standard core lock would be 100 gr.