Use Promo Code Randy for 20% off OutdoorClass

.357 Mag bullet question

Muskeez

I am not reloading, but I figured you guys would be the best ones to ask... I just started shooting a handgun last year after using a friends Ruger GP100 to harvest a buck in Iowa. So, I bought the same gun. We can use handguns during out shotgun slug or late muzzleloader seasons in Iowa. So, my question is: Assuming that they all shoot decent groups out to 50 yards, which of these factory rounds do you feel would have the best killing potential on a whitetail deer. I would guess the more lead going down range the better, but would the flat nose lead bullet flatten out too soon, vs. the jacketed hollow point? I have a box of each and will be testing them at the range soon. As you can probably tell , I'm a greenhorn... so thanks for any advise!
1) Hornady FTX Polymer tip, 140 gr. / muzzle velocity 1440fps
2) Hornady XTP Jacketed hollow pt, 158 gr. / muzzle velocity 1250fps
3) Buffalo Bore Lead Flat nose, 180 gr. / muzzle velocity 1400 fps

Tested...

Thanks for the replies guys! The Fedral looks very similar to the XTP.

Summary: FTX had tightest groups, but all were acceptable and sufficient. The Buffalo Bore rounds really barked and had severe recoil. (which was kind of fun for a while :D )

I also taped together a stack of phonebooks, newpapers, magazines, with a hard cover Cabelas catalog in the middle. The FTX had the least penetration just under the cover of the Cabelas book. The XTP went about another inch, almost to the last pages of the book. The 180 grn. Flat nose BB went clean through the cabelas catalog leaving a BIG hole and the bullet was another 1.5"+ into the phone books.

The FTX and XTP mushroomed out really well with some nasty sharp edges. But there was no lead to be found, just the "Jacket". The BB stayed as one solid piece of lead and simply left a trail of lead dust wearing the bullet down to about 3/4 its original size.