30 Days to Go

Calvin

Well, I'm 30 days out from a Kodiak brown bear hunt. I figured I'd share some of my planning with the OYO crowd. I'm a resident, so I am not required to have a guide. It'll be a OYO hunt.

I was drawn for this tag, back in the spring of 2010: DB256http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=brownbearhunting.hunt_details&huntfile_id=10863&regyear=2011

This is a new experience for me, as I've never been to Kodiak, and I've never hunted Brown Bears before. As the crow flies, Kodiak is 800 miles from where I live in Alaska.

I booked with Seahawk air to fly me into my area. http://www.seahawkair.com/ It's a very short plane ride from the town of Kodiak, which is nice as I won't have a huge transporters bill to pay.

I decided to rent the Veikoda Bay cabin. http://www.recreation.gov/camping/K...?siteId=289686&contractCode=NRSO&parkId=75541 If the weather goes south which it can do in a hurry on Kodiak, the cabin will be nice. A cabin was also a selling point to get my brother to come with me, to give me a hand.

I am renting an 11' Zodiac Raft, with a 15hp motor, for mobility in the bay, from Kodiak Kamps. They seem to have a good reputation for gear rental in kodiak. I also needed a Sat phone from them. I've done a bunch of beach hunting for bears on Prince of Wales, so it'll be interesting to see if we can find any bears down low, or if we are going to need to be high up in the mountains to find them. I trained for the mountains though, and I'm looking forward to doing some climbing. We'll see how bad the snow is though.

As for gear..

I'll be packing my 338RUM, with Federal factory 225gr Accubonds. My brother will be backing me up with a 30-06, with Federal factory 180gr Noz Partitions.

I'll have a tent and all my overnight backpacking gear, just in case across the bay when the weather kicks up. I've got all my food boxed up, and I'll be shipping it up in the next week, so it'll be waiting for me when I arrive.