Sitka Gear Turkey Tool Belt

2020 New Mexico Elk

huntandfly

I have never done a write up of a hunt before, so bear with with me.

I was sitting in my dorm overseas this spring when I got a text from my uncle that New Mexico’s draw results were out. I went on to check and found that my dad and I had drawn our first ever premium elk hunt tag and would be going on our first archery elk hunt after years of applying. I spent the next couple of months doing a lot of research and e-scouting and dreaming of hunting bugling bulls. I got back home and starting hitting the target practice pretty hard, staying after it in the gym, and trying to perfect my calling. I took 2 weeks off of work for the first time to ensure that I could hunt the whole season. Finally mid-September rolled around and we started south on the long trip to NM. My grandpa and uncle brought their brand new truck and 5th wheel to help out on our hunt, but it never made it down to NM (a whole entire other story involving 3 separate trips to dealerships across the west and a breakdown in the middle of the road).

With the truck and trailer stuck at a dealership in Southern Colorado, we found a way to get my dads truck down to where we were at, and managed to continue down to NM, rolling into camp 2 days later than we anticipated, but luckily still prior to opening morning. A family friend who lives close to the unit offered his trailer for us to use which was an absolute lifesaver.