'19 CO nanny goat hunt

rmyoung1

Oreamnos americanus and I share a complicated relationship. I love those crazy buggers, but they seem to want to kill me. Back in 2011, as a Colorado resident, I drew a G5 archery tag. The year before I had accompanied a buddy on his successful hunt deep in the Weminuche. He arrowed a nice billy on my last day in the backcountry. It was one of those amazing wilderness adventures that I will never forget. With a goat tag of my own, I hoped to relish the G5 experience, and I sought to do the trip solo. First night out I climbed forever in pursuit of two billies on the skyline. The sun set without me relocating the goats, and I reluctantly began my descent. Then the rockslide started. I bumped and bounced and rolled and eventually came to a crashing halt in the sliding shale. Right away I praised God because I knew I wasn't seriously injured, but the slide did result in a sprained ankle. A night alone on the mountain was followed the next morning by a rescue by some very capable search & rescue guys out of Silverton. And... I made it home safe and sound... with an unpunched goat tag. For the last eight years, that memory has been my most painful hunting disappointment.

I've moved to Texas since drawing that initial goat tag. Obviously, the new nonresident status wasn't going to help my chances of mountain goat redemption. I decided to begin applying for the nanny only goat tags in a simple effort to head into the mountains again with a goat tag... any goat tag... in my pocket once again. And this spring... it worked! I drew a rifle nanny tag for G12. I might be dumb, but I'm not stupid. :) I vowed to do things differently this time, and immediately got my best friend and hunting buddy, Doug Hoak ( @Walkitoff ) and my dad on board with my new goat plans. I also contacted Snowmass Creek Outfitters to pack in my tipi, stove and other camp items into the high country where I could, with any luck, glass goats from the tipi.