WYO unit 45 X-Bar Ranch

Ttannahill14

Anybody ever hunt X-bar ranch in unit 45. A group of guys and I are heading from Kansas to hunt Wyoming antelope. Considering putting in for unit 45. But with lack of public access the only way I see it being worth it is if we can get onto the Xbar ranch. Anybody know how that process works?

Do I have to get unit 45 before I can apply for X-Bar? I'd like to have access to X-Bar Ranch first before we commit to a unit.

I'm fairly new to western hunting so a little lossed on how it's public land yet I need an extra permission slip to get onto the public ranch???

Thanks guys

It's NOT a public ranch.It's a private land owner enrolled in the program.I never hunted X Bar but have hunted Strouss Hill hma in same unit.I've always been successful and my partners on bucks.I almost positive u need a license in hand to apply.We always due for 1st week in strouss Hill.If you don't draw 2nd week is unlimited permission and I killed my biggest buck that week and was all alone.First day is a zoo,but by mid-week it's pretty empty

I believe the video below was filmed at the X-Bar HMA.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q6A2njyjTyE

HMA's are easy to apply for. Here's the link: https://wgfd.wyo.gov/plpwFrontEnd2008/default.aspx

I hunted elk on an HMA last year. All I had to do was follow the link, and by the end, I had a permission slip printed out. This was an "unlimited" access HMA, so a limited access slip may be different. You might consider area 43 as well. There are two huge HMA's in that area. They're limited draw slips for the first half of the season and unlimited in the second half.

First you would have to apply for and draw unit 45. Then you have to apply to the G&F for a drawing and be picked to hunt one of the six periods, as stated below for this particular HMA:

Permission slips for September 15 – October 31 (six periods for regular season antelope hunting) are issued via a random drawing.
o Apply July 13 – August 3, 2015.