Unit 18 Colorado 4th Rifle Season

denverteacher

Hunting 4th Rifle in unit 18 in Colorado. I already know that it gets hammered, but am looking for any advice that you all may have. I am thinking about hunting around Grouse and Elk mountain, but any insight or advice would be greatly appreciated.

I'd use the search function for this. One of your first five posts asking for spot advice doesn't go over too well on here. If I had Colorado experience I'd try to help.

Good luck

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: JAG
I'd use the search function for this. One of your first five posts asking for spot advice doesn't go over to well on here. If I had Colorado experience I'd try to help.

Good luck
Thanks for the heads up! Definitely not looking for spots, I have a pretty good idea of where I am going to be hunting. Just was seeing what advice might be out there.

Keeping in mind I'm new to CO and still venting a bit about the number of hunters encountered, a bit of culture shock if you will. Being a lifetime hunter that was relegated to yahoo status hurt my pride a little. 18 was my first elk hunt ever last year, I learned a crap ton of what not to do. One of those things I learned is I will not be going back to 18 to elk hunt.

Keeping in mind I'm new to CO and still venting a bit about the number of hunters encountered, a bit of culture shock if you will. Being a lifetime hunter that was relegated to yahoo status hurt my pride a little. 18 was my first elk hunt ever last year, I learned a crap ton of what not to do. One of those things I learned is I will won't be going back to 18 to elk hunt.
Fair enough! This will be my first elk hunt this year and am looking at it as a learning experience. I have a cabin in the unit which is what pushed me in this direction. I put in for a point as my first choice and will be expanding out to other parts of the state as I accumulate more points.

What season did you hunt last year?