Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Tricky Toms in AZ

Devil Diver Down

I had the privilege of being a mentor at a youth turkey hunting camp last weekend, even though I'm a relative newb turkey hunter myself - a whopping grand total of one turkey kill under my belt. Arizona purposely starts their turkey seasons after mating season has been going for a while to limit the exposure to lovesick toms and the success rate - we just don't have many birds. That makes it tough for camps designed at hunter recruitment and retention.

My introduction to turkey hunting was at this same camp 4 years back when I took my oldest son - they didn't have enough mentors to go around and he ended up getting stuck with the worst turkey guy in camp for Friday and Saturday hunts - me, without any calling experience or ability. Finally, on Sunday morning we got paired up with someone who knew what they were doing and we got our first gobbles, though we never saw the bird.

The camp has hunters from 4 units - 2 draw and 2 OTC - and anywhere between 50-75 hunters. Most of the mentors prefer to pair with kids in the draw units because the mentor also drew that unit for the general hunt and are getting some scouting in while helping a kid learn some things. Few mentors want to spend time in the OTC units. Success ratio is under 10% at the camp.

I brought both of my sons (first and only big game hunt for my youngest) the next year and, again, not enough mentors so they were saddled with me, but I'd practiced on a slate call enough to get some gobble responses. Lack of success - and I don't mean tagging out, I mean seeing birds and the full experience - is tough on old hunters, but particularly hard on kids, I think. In any case, for a variety of factors, my youngest (going on 18) no longer hunts, at least for now. Oldest has too much on his plate and hunting is way down the priority chain.