PEAX Equipment

Trick to landing.fish on tiny flies

Bob-WY

Was out yesterday, landed one small rainbow, lost a couple others including a nice one. I am fairly new to fly fishing. Fish with a friend who is very good, but he couldn't help with this other than maybe to slow and to hard on setting the hook.

We were float and wade fishing. Using a size 18 sow bug and size 20 midge. Friend landed 4 just for comparison

With these tiny flies I seem to miss strikes or loose the fish way more often than with a larger flies.

Any guesses on what I'm doing wrong?

JMO

I had an entry level rod and a very nice high end rod. They were both broken during a move so let’s not go there…. There is a significant difference in the ability to land fish with a nice fly rod. I had a GLX 5 weight and a Sage DS 6 weight. The number of fish landed per hit was nothing short of amazing. Additionally, occasionally you can get a bad batch of tippet. It could also be your knots. Check knots first, then tippet, then but a nice rod.

I believe it starts with good gear, good knots, and practice. For me it’s a feel thing. I have a 10 foot full flex rod. That really helps. When drifting my flies I try to keep the slack out of my line, and the rod from 20 to 50 degrees to my flies. I find that not using an indicator helps. Makes me pay attention more.

Attachments

• 5AF79844-DEC4-4927-BB99-2323214C0F9F.png
    5AF79844-DEC4-4927-BB99-2323214C0F9F.png
    5.2 MB · Views: 4
Yup, coming unhooked, not breaking off

Using an indicator. I do have to work on line management, between stripping and mending. My friend "yells" at me over that, but he is a good teacher 😁