MTNTOUGH - Use promo code RANDY for 30 days free

Tree stand for elk

Griztrax

So I've been hunting Montana HD 380 for the last 6 years both as a tag holder (one year) and as a friend to people I have met on the forums and buddies who have drawn. Every year I keep telling myself how awesome it would be to have a tree stand in a couple key areas and so with my oldest son holding a tag this year, I have decided to hang a stand. I've selected a timbered movement corridor between feeding and bedding (not on a water source). I think I'm doing the right thing but would sure like some encouraging words from those who have done this with success during archery season. I have a great feeling about it because I know the elk movements so well in this area but I'm not a tree stand hunter by nature and so this is new to me and my son. Any words of wisdom? Thanks!

Last edited:
I’d hang the stand and set in it and identify and cut shooting lanes too I Set all my stands and do all the prep work as early as possible so all the wildlife are use to it being there

Tree stands do work for elk to a degree but you need to have a ton of patience and sit for a LONG time. I can't sit that long no more without moving around. When I first got taught to use elk calls to get in closer, I took some military leave at the time and went hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park during the rut. My calls then were gawd awful but apparently they work. I set up a tree stand and called a big herd bull in and I was doing what I was told was the extreme esterus call. That bull shredded the oak brush under me and could of easily snapped the tree I was in. If you done your homework though, you have a great chance of success.