Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

suggestions for altitude training

ibchez

I started training about a year ago for a backpack hunt I will be taking this October, but I would like to try and train for the difference in altitude. I hike and hunt often in the Mark Twain national forest, moving between 300 and 1000 ft above sea level , but I have heard that backpacking at higher altitudes can be tricky. Any suggestions possible training methods to help adjust?

All you can do is get in the best possible shape and roll with it. Id try and concentrate on lungs and circulation, and do HIIT exercises quite a bit. Hiking with a weighted pack will help.

Not sure what altitude you will be hunting, but arriving early and letting your body acclimate with also help.

Thanks for the response 4ester. From my scouting I think I will be somewhere between 8600 and 10600. I figured the weighted pack thing so about a year ago I started hiking with a pack even when taking day hikes.

Thanks for the response 4ester. From my scouting I think I will be somewhere between 8600 and 10600. I figured the weighted pack thing so about a year ago I started hiking with a pack even when taking day hikes.

Like Steven Rinella said on a recent podcast, "legs and lungs". Focus on cardio to increase your overall fitness capacity and do as much trail time and/or lifting/cycling/etc. as you can.

Altitude sickness is a real thing, and it effects are different on each person. There are pills out there that are said to really help. Cheap insurance vs a ruined hunt.

Dont go too high too fast. Lingering a day a 8K, one at 9K, and one at 10K will help you a lot.

I wouldn't think about it too hard, just listen to your body when you get out there. You'll probably feel like crap for a while.

Altitude sickness is a real thing, and it effects are different on each person. There are pills out there that are said to really help. Cheap insurance vs a ruined hunt.