Start building points in Utah or Wyoming???

CForest

I am a resident of Montana, and after drawing a tag in new mexico this year I realized I need to be looking at more out of state opportunities. I don't want to call myself a "trophy hunter" but with that said if I am going to put a bunch of money and time into a hunt I would like to be able to have a good chance to harvest a nice 320+ type bull. (I realize that means a handful of points will be necessary)

I will apply in NM for sure
Likely do Arizona as well, not terribly expensive if I do both elk and sheep

So my question is do you guys think I should start getting points in Wyoming or Utah???

-Grizzly country will be a no go
-Will have to be a rifle or maybe muzzy because of harvest I cant leave until October in most years.
-I'm a flatlander and have hunted the Missouri river breaks all my life. Similar type country to that would be awesome

Thanks for the guidance, time is running out on buying a Wyoming point!

I would go with Wyoming. Unless you archery hunt most Utah hunts are a ways out. You could go General but General is pretty poor for the most part unless you have access to private.

Utah costs less than beer, AZ isn't much more if you do Antelope/Elk. Wyoming is a no brainer for Antelope/Deer/Elk.

Point creep is a major concern in any of these states for sure, certainly never catch up on the elite units. But I would be willing to wait 5-10 years for a pretty good unit, is that feasible?? Or is that no man's land???

I think you could find what you're looking for in Wyoming but not Utah, except maybe archery as stated.