Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

Sleeping bag recommendations?

CONative44

Hey folks,

I am new to backpack hunting and I am looking for some tips on sleeping bags .

If I were to invest in one high quality sleeping bag, what is a good all-weather bag that I should consider?

I've just found that a quilt has been far easier for me being a side sleeper than any of the mummy style sleeping bags out there.

When I've used mummy bags that taper-in a lot, I don't sleep well due to the flopping. I like roomy bags, but that usually means more bulk/weight.

For backpacking, I've used a Marmot Neversummer and a Western Mountaineering Versatile.

I use a mummy when backpacking but a 'alaskan sleeping bag company' full size bag when I don't have to carry it up mountains. Get one from a company that features camping items and get one warmer than you think you need.
I liked down but the new fabric's are good and you can compress them more than down so you have a smaller package to carry.

You might take a look at Western Mountaineering bag reviews.

Western Mountaineering for a backpacking bag. But it will be pricey.

Feathered Friends and Kuiu also make some nice bags, but also pricey. Down mummy bags will be the lightest weight, warmest and most packable. Don't skimp on the pad either, its just as important.

If you don't have to carry it very far, get yourself a big ole Cabelas Trapper rectagular bag or something like it, they will be more comfortable.

Big Agnes is suited around added body space w/ minimal weight.
Then if simple... Kelty surprisingly makes reasonable bags and a fantastic price.

Big Agnes is suited around added body space w/ minimal weight.
Then if simple... Kelty surprisingly makes reasonable bags and a fantastic price.

My girlfriend just picked up a semi-rectangular BA bag. I like the looks of it as far as foot room goes.

I have 3 bags I pack with & 3 for camp or extras now.
Marmot- endless summer ,-15 deg. down.