Sheep habits

Gr8bawana

As some of you may know I was awarded a much coveted desert bighorn sheep tag someone turned back in.
My hunt unit is about 20 minutes from my house and I plan to get an idea of the few roads there are, it's not a very big unit.
Hunt actually starts on the last day of my bull elk hunt, Nov. 20th so my scouting will have to be done before-hand.
My question is should I actually look for sheep this early or wait until early Oct.? I don't know how much they move around.
I have zero experience hunting sheep.
Any thoughts?

As some of you may know I was awarded a much coveted desert bighorn sheep tag someone turned back in.
My hunt unit is about 20 minutes from my house and I plan to get an idea of the few roads there are, it's not a very big unit.
Hunt actually starts on the last day of my bull elk hunt, Nov. 20th so my scouting will have to be done before-hand.
My question is should I actually look for sheep this early or wait until early Oct.? I don't know how much they move around.
Any thoughts?
If/when I draw a sheep tag, id do what @MHMT does and spend every waking moment in that unit that I could. Pick a ram that you can’t live without and learn what he does.

Any thoughts?

Call the biologist for the unit and ask where the core ranges are, then get behind the glass in those spots.

Got out and did some scouting last weekend and we did find sheep. A few ewes and lambs, quite a few young rams 1/2 curl or so.
We did see 2 definite shooters out by themselves. I'm going to se if I can find them in the same general area again since I don't know how much they move around.
Does anyone know if the bigger rams stay away from the lambs with ewes?
The country looks so desolate it's amazing those animals can live out there. We still have a lot of country to look over though.
Hopefully next time I update I'll have some pics of sheep.

IMG_20231001_110428_5.jpgIMG_20231001_110436_7.jpg