Seared and Butter Basted Venison Backstrap

CycleFishHunt

I am new to hunting and game cookery, but I wanted to share something I cooked recently that turned out well.

- One day before cooking: Generously salt the meat
- An hour before cooking: Take it out of the fridge and let it come up to room temp
- Get a cast skillet ripping hot, and add a tablespoon or two of oil with a high smoke point. I used Safflower oil
- Sear it on all sides, until good and brown
- Once the internal temperature approaches 100ºF, turn the heat down to about medium, and throw in a few chunks of butter (I think I used 3-4 Tbs butter to 2 or so lbs of meat. Even more butter definitely would not hurt!)
- Tilt the skillet so the butter pools and start spooning it over the meat
- Keep basting, more or less continuously, until you're within 10º of your desired doneness, and rest the meat. I put it directly onto a serving dish, and poured the contents of the skillet over it
- Some freshly ground pepper, and a light sprinkle of salt is good at this point too
- Once rested for 5 min or so, slice and serve.

Serve with some tasty sides. I did oven roasted potatoes, and sauteed asparagus. I do not drink, but my wife enjoyed it with a malbec.

I overshot the doneness slightly. I was going for medium rare, but hit medium, I think. Despite that it was still tender, and delicious. The whole family enjoyed. I also might slice it a little more thinly in the future than you'll see in the pictures.

I adapted this from the way I sometimes do pork chops. With chops, I'd throw a few sprigs of thyme in with the butter. The venison has a slightly sagey taste to it already so no need for that here.

If anyone gives this a try, I'd love you hear your feedback.

IMG_7531.jpegIMG_7533.jpegIMG_7534.jpeg

This is my favorite way to cook backstrap.

Couple things:

Second the recommendation for UNSALTED butter.