Sausage making for a total beginner

Several years back a buddy of mine wanted me to make sausage for him since he was a nooby and was his first deer. I said yes, i didnt want to drag the big grinder and stuffer out so i thought i would use my kitchen aid mixer "6qt professional" model. Seemed to work ok, my mistake was i didnt give it time to cool down. It got way too hot and i fried the motor. $200 later i had them replace it with the commercial motor. That being said i never used it again for that amount of meat. I know i have read others have never had an issue but this was my experience.

The constant pressure a stuffer provides is what you will want. You wont end up with air pockets. If you have any friends that process thier own meat ask and see if they would borrow you theirs til you find one. Over the course of several years i finally built up a nice inventory of processing equipment. Each year or two adding something else, that way it isnt such a giant sticker shock.

Best of luck!

Get a stuffer and if you are going to freeze or cook right after making them, no curing salt is necessary. If you are going to smoke them or let them hang for a few days in a cool environment, I would add the curing salt.

IMG_7464.jpg
Alright, I got a proper Stuffer by LEM and went with hog casings after reading the detailed article by Henk Shaw. Now I'm just waiting on the seasoning mix by High Country. Supposed to arrive on Saturday.

Reading Henk Shaws article his pork % differs from most recipes and he makes a a distinction between fatty pork shoulder and Pork fat. What is everybody's recommendation. Also keeping in mind I love wild game but I'm still trying to convince my wife....

When started up without good equipment I did bulk sausage. Rather than try and stuff it in casings. I started with my great grandmothers hand crank grinder. I put the bulk sausage in 1lb bags and vac’d it.