Caribou Gear

Sausage making for a total beginner

CG-914

Total Sausage Making Newbie.

Wanna make my first batch with my first buck ever. While processing the meat I ground the scrap pile down already. I have a Kitchen Aid that I'll be using for grind and stuffing. I know it will require an upgrade one day.

Ok I have several questions:
- What casing is everybody using. I see on here that many prefer hog but some sheep what is the difference
- Do I need to use a curing agent (When using a casing)? And if so which one?
- When braking it down into links I spin each link in the opposite direction and do I need to wait before cutting the casing at the brakes so the filling doesn't come out?

I want to run a breakfast batch in casings with the Hi-Country Mix and Hatch Chilies with 2:1 of Deer and Pork Fatback.

TIA

Don't cut until after it's smoked unless your going to actually tie it off or use a hog ring. You don't need a caring agent for breakfast sausage since your going to be cooking it

My opinion: hicountry seasoning is top notch but small casings are hard without a stuffer(assume you want small links). I would just make patties first batch or stuff in larger hog casings to experiment with taste. If you have a interest in brats or something simular buy the hicountry or lem kits for sauages, they will teach you basics and provide everything you need. Real easy and good is a brat or polish sauage kit just simply smoked whole (not linked) cut to length for serving size.

I have a Kitchen Aid that I'll be using for grind and stuffing.
Please don’t, it is an exercise in futility. You cannot effectively stuff casings with that set up. It will be a complete and utter waste of time and money.

Get a cheap stuffer. You need consistent feed and pressure to stuff without air pockets.

Don't cut until after it's smoked unless your going to actually tie it off or use a hog ring. You don't need a caring agent for breakfast sausage since your going to be cooking it