Sabots vs. Full-Bore Conicals

Brian in Montana

I've never tried saboted bullets before. My understanding is that it increases the velocity of the bullet, but are they inherently more accurate than full-bore conicals? In MT your bullet has to be lead only. With that in mind, the PoweBelt pure lead looks interesting.

There are so many different types of ML bullet these days. Its a little overwhelming.

I use the powerbelt copper aero-tip for my ML. They’ve been very accurate and have good performance. I assume the lead powerbelts will work well.

I used Powerbelt all lead on a few deer. It seems to be almost pure and is quite soft but does the job. Accuracy seemed good but nowhere as good as the Hornady SST .452 and Harvester Black Sabot which I haven't used on deer due to the legalities of weapons restricted areas. I've cast a few 50 cal Lee REAL bullets and killed 1 deer with them. Accuracy was just meh but it's not like you're shooting much over 100 yards anyway. I've not used the T/C and Hornady Plains bullets in inline rifles so can't help you there.

I'll probably cast some of those Lee REAL bullets this winter if you're interested I can make a few extras for you to experiment with.

Same here, very good results with the Hornady SSTs. Now that I'm in Colorado, the power belts have served me well, but not as accurate as the sabots

I have shot lots of both. I have one rifle that only likes the Thompson Maxiballs. They are plenty accurate, for what the rifle was designed for. I shoot the Powerbelts in my Remington inline and they shoot real well and kill deer just fine. I don't push the range and I think that past 150 yards, most conicals-either sabot, or bore size-become problematic. There are some, now, that are stretching the ranges, but that is a more specialized bullet/rifle combo.