Save $100 on the Leupold VX-3HD

RCBS Powder Master Dispenser problem

MJE2083

Hoping someone can offer some insight to a problem I'm having.

I have an older RCBS Powder Master Dispenser. It's the older model made by PACT with the digital "eye" that communicates with the scale. The unit is probably 15 years old, out of warranty.

There is a crack in the plastic housing that was not there before. I recently had some guys doing work at my house and I suspect that one of them knocked my dispenser on the ground and broke it. Before anyone brings it up, it's a complex set of circumstances and it would be virtually impossible for me to try to go after them for the damage. In fact I'm not even sure that it was them.

That being said, the dispenser will not calibrate. Scale works fine and dispenser registers that it's communicating with the dispenser. When I fill the dispenser and try to calibrate it to the powder, the light just blinks but the motors do not turn. I've seen that you can do a factory re-set on the scale(and I've tried that), but no mention of that for the dispenser. Anyone ever have this problem, or know how I could fix it?

I'm planning to call RCBS on Monday to see if they have any solutions, but at this point I suspect that I'll be buying a new unit.

Thanks

I tinkered with this thing for a couple hours this morning, no luck. Tore it apart hoping to find an easy fix inside, no luck. I convinced myself that something was wrong electronically and threw it in the trash.

Local gun shop had a sale on RCBS Chargemaster Lite so I bought one.

I just can't bring myself to use one of the electronic dispensers. mtmuley

Same here. Old school best for me. If you have to "confirm" the charge with a beam scale, I will just eliminate the "Hi Tech" gadget, and use the beam scale and powder trickler in the first place. OH, and it is a manual powder trickler, not the high falutin' lectronic one.