Caribou Gear Tarp

Putting in reps?!

Ben_BlueOx

Hi All,

I am new to the hunting world, located in Northern Illinois. I want to use hunting as a way to be outdoors, explore and be more active. With this, I know there is a longer archery season so interested in pursuing it.

I live in a townhouse located in busier rural Area, so I don’t have lots of open land around me to practice. What do you do to get in reps? Are there any “rules/guidelines” about where and where to not set up to practice?

thanks.

I have a friend that shoots at the park while his son is at baseball practice. He's had the cops called on him a couple of times just because people will be people. But as long af your not shooting towards anything and you have a backstop should be fine. A lot of people shoot indoors too. Your best bet would be to find a local archery club or local pro shop to shoot at though.

I have a friend that shoots at the park while his son is at baseball practice. He's had the cops called on him a couple of times just because people will be people. But as long af your not shooting towards anything and you have a backstop should be fine. A lot of people shoot indoors too. Your best bet would be to find a local archery club or local pro shop to shoot at though.

If you were to practice at home, how much space do you think would be needed?

Like @JLS mentioned check your local ordinances, they may prohibit you from doing so within the township.

Check with your local archery shops about using their ranges, or any other local options like a public range. If you know anybody that lives outside of town you could ask to come set up a target at their place and bring them some beer as a thank you.

I think unless it has a dedicated archery area I wouldn't do any shooting at a park. Even if legal the amount of harassment from "Karen" and her labradoodle would be worth it and most likely end with a visit from the cops.

There has to be an archery range somewhere nearby in Illinois