PEAX Equipment

Pronghorn Calls

Backcountry Hunter 2

I drew my first pronghorn archery tag this year in CO. I've already taken one with a rifle, but this is my first time with a bow. My plan is to spot and stalk, but have a decoy and a call or two to help close the distance. I'm wondering if anyone has had good experience with calls, and if so what type. I'm currently looking at the Primos and the E.L.K. Inc. one. Feel free to PM. I'm relatively new here so below is a picture of the one I took with a rifle three years ago.

6YBuy9x.jpg

Depends on when you're hunting. If you are hunting the rut and looking for satellite bucks, you can do very well with just a decoy. I personally wouldn't bother with a call. Best advice is put most of your time into shooting

I would not carry a pronghorn decoy around if rifle season nor in an area where poaching is an issue. Nor wear a pronghorn cap under those circumstances. Hunters get cataracts, too. Wave a white flag or sit water in a blind or use the cow decoy.

I would not carry a pronghorn decoy around if rifle season nor in an area where poaching is an issue. Nor wear a pronghorn cap under those circumstances. Hunters get cataracts, too. Wave a white flag or sit water in a blind or use the cow decoy.

There is no rifle or muzzle-loader tag for pronghorn going on at the same time.

We have one and it will work if you can use it right and catch them in the right mood.
Ours is an old wooden barrelled one and it sounds kind of odd but it is the sound they make. The cadence is the key.

My understanding is that a white flag is meant to look like a pronghorn rump. The theory is that the white will get a buck's attention and get him to think you're a rival buck. If he's curious and/or aggressive enough he may come running. It's kind of hit and miss but does have the potential to pay off for you.