Caribou Gear

Prayer request

Prayers are coming her way. I had foot drop once, and it was a pain in the ass. As much as an amputation would suck, I’m praying it brings here some relief.

Redman, you better start behaving. As a former wrestling coach I remember a couple of kids with missing arms who were real tough customers, one from Idaho and a boy from Miles City who was a state contender back in the 70s. I seem to recall he lost his arm to a grain auger. I heard about a wrestler at one of the Utah universities who was missing a leg and made it to NCAA championships. He had a definite strength advantage. With that missing weight from amputated leg his upper body was at least one, maybe two, weight classes higher. Yep, your wife may give you a run for your money. On the trail she's not going to get dehydrated or fatigued as quickly as she did when she was healthy with both legs. She should be better than ever! Something to look forward to.

Once her load is evenly distributed her good leg will be much better off too. And probably her back as well.

Last edited:
The OP started a new thread, expressing his thankfulness and updated her successful surgery, with a report about dealing with post surgical pain levels.......