Poll: Should NRs have a larger say in Montana Wildlife Management?

Should NRs have a larger say in Montana Wildlife Management?

• Yes- I'm a Resident

Votes: 4 3.3%
  • No- I'm a Resident

Votes: 40 32.8%
  • Yes- I'm a NR

Votes: 14 11.5%
  • No- I'm a NR

Votes: 65 53.3%

• Total voters

SAJ-99

I read an article in the Gazette today about Whitefish-area outfitter Patrick Tabor, a nominee for the Fish and Wildlife Commission, who was answered questions from of Senate Fish And Game Committee. Quote from article below.

Under further questioning from Cohenour, Tabor said he is not interested in “bulldozing or coming in with a specific agenda.”
However, he went on to say that he feels nonresidents, who supply a large portion of the funding to Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks because their hunting and fishing licenses are more expensive, deserve a larger say.
“I’ve always felt quite strongly that nonresidents don’t have a voice relative to what happens in Montana … I think when we talk about sportsmen it needs to be all inclusive.”

What do you think?

Legally? NRs don't need to have a larger say. From a business perspective it is typically a good idea to get input from your customers, and finding ways to keep your big spenders spending money is probably important.

It also varies from topic to topic. For example, if MT wanted to require nonresidents to hire a guide to hunt, I think they should get input from the NRs. If they want to tie the NR tag prices to an inflation metric? Maybe not so much.

Legally? NRs don't need to have a larger say. From a business perspective it is typically a good idea to get input from your customers, and finding ways to keep your big spenders spending money is probably important.

It also varies from topic to topic. For example, if MT wanted to require nonresidents to hire a guide to hunt, I think they should get input from the NRs. If they want to tie the NR tag prices to an inflation metric? Maybe not so much.