Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

Pack rats

Doug

How many of ya's consider yourselves pack rats? I never thought of myself as one until I started packing stuff up to move. Good grief I have a lot of junk. I've hauled over 10 tons of car parts and metal to the scrap yard while I 've been cleaning out my garage. It's hard to throw out those old V-8 engines, but nows a good time to do it because iron and steel are bringing an all time high of $5 per hundred pounds. :cool:
Doug

Well good luck on your move Doug, keep us posted on your progress, and have fun with those ol' engine blocks... :)

I am moving into a new house, I have lived on the same block in the same neighborhood in adjacent houses since 1961. I have been cleaning out, packing & fixing since November of 2004. I am up to 4 15' box truckloads to the dump, 4 loads to GoodWill, 3 or 4 loads to storage. 15 loads of trash in the back of my F250 to the dumpster at work. I am getting closer, but not done yet. I have about 6 weeks left to finish my old house off and 3 months before my new one is ready to close. I will get a couple weekends in Oct. to hunt and stuff and than it starts all over again in Nov. with final packing, moving, shop build-out & anything my wife talks me into, once we get there. This stuff won't end until 2006 sometime. I guess I am a packrat, but the den is getting less congested, JLG.

I always find good uses for stuff, but my wife usually talks me into gettin rid of it within a short time. Example, I was scouting for deer the other day and found two sets of tent poles, the kind with the shock cords. I picked them up and brought them home. Wife said what are you gonna do with them? My response, I dunno, they might come in handy, someday for something. She said yes, if you remember you have them, or where you put em. She's right, I put em under the front seat of the truck with some other stuff I couldn't live without.