Ollin Magnetic Digiscoping System

Overpriced outdoor gear

Dougfirtree

Overall, there's a lot of value in most of the gear we use for hunting and fishing. I have a wool jacket that I've been wearing for 20 years, that looks like it will last at least another 20. Firearms last longer than we do if we take care of them.
But, it seems to me there are things we buy that are just absurdly overpriced. Things that if marketed to another group of people, would probably cost a small fraction of what we're willing to pay for them. Things that make me grumble and curse when I need to buy them. This thread is the new award show for such items. I'll nominate two bits of outdoor gear:

Waterfowl decoys (what the hell!?)

Brass tumbler media (seeeriously, what the hell?!)

Whatcha got?

IDK but those fancy named camo rubber boots seem way to rich for me. Looked at a pair just the other day 185$ . Other than the color and name not much different from the 20$ barn muck boots that I’ll keep wearing. Besides the deer around the farm are used to the smell of them. Also hunting glove prices drive me crazy. I’m sure there are more but those two were on the front burner the last couple days.

The price of hunting dogs is getting plum ridiculous. Best dog I'll ever own cost $35 in 1977 which was a little more than a bargain back then. I suppose with inflation that would be ... $168 current value. Lucky if one can find any kind of dog today for less than $1500.

And how about Sitka outerwear. I mean, how good can that super dollars suff be short of having sex with the wearer?