Optics Question

guppie9

Ok, so I see on the buy/sell thread someone selling some Swaro binos for $1000 +/- and I'm trying to imagine the situation where I would drop a grand on binoculars. I know that a lot of people on this site are fairly wealthy and spend a lot of money on hunting/tags/gear, etc. I'm a simple man. I am an elementary school teacher and my wife is a nurse. We do OK, but $1000 is about 2 weeks pay after deductions for me.

Anyway, I have an old pair of Bushnell binos that seem to be out of alignment and I really would like a new pair. (Binoculars....you smartasses!) I'm looking around on Cabelas and see Nikons, Cabela Brand, and a few others in the $200-$400 range. I can see paying that. To me, that is still a chunk of change, but my anniversary is this summer, so maybe a gift. I know there is probably a significant difference between these types of optics and Swaros, Leicas, Leupolds, etc. My question is, is it THAT big of a difference??? Is it really going to allow me to spot game better, or is it more of a status symbol? I'm not trying to bust anyone's balls, and if you can afford those things, more power to you. I'm just curious, should I get something in that $200-$400 range now, or maybe save up for a year or two and get one of the high end deals. My rifle (yes, singular) has a nice Leupold scope on it that I got a screaming deal on a few years back. I certainly wouldn't spot through it, but when I have to line up a critter, I know I have decent glass.

So what is everyone's opinion on this? Any help would be appreciated.

2 weeks take home for me is $1300. Far from rich.

That said I have 10x42 slc and a STS 65mm spotter. I would rather forget my bow or gun than those binos. They are way worth it to me. I know I see more game because of them.

On the other hand my truck is 18 years old with 217,000 miles. Like anything in life, you make your choices. My glass is worth more than my truck. I kill something I may never make it back to town:)