NM unit 12 Bull Elk

rixty9

Hey guys,
Just found out I was lucky enough to draw a 2nd rifle tag in unit 12. I'm a resident of AZ and not sure how much scouting I can do because my wife and I just had another baby girl. I'm going to be lucky enough to go on the hunt. ;)
Looking to mostly escout and not sure where to focus my efforts. I've been thinking the SW corner due to public land access.
I typically use onX and have a good GPS so I'm pretty open to any area.
I don't need any honeyholes, just a good starting point.
Thanks for any advise.

Congrats! Welcome.
I drew same tag. My home unit.
I pointed another HTer over that way a couple years ago, he left me with a cooler of frozen homemade food on 1st day so he could take his elk home....
Gary sent me a new ranch coat last year after some pointers....
....but what do I know.
I know I can maybe ambush one of those big boys heading to bed after drinking & carousing here all night this year...or catch him here....lol

I'll be there during second archery season and will gladly share whatever intel I have..

Hank,

Sent you a PM. I'm sure I can bring some food to bribe you with..

Here's a tip for not from unit 12 hunters this year.
Be sure of where you are this year, more so than normal. onXmaps is more than your friend. Cell service is poor at best so....

I have a feeling the ranchers will not be taking kindly to trespassing ,fence/gate/lock cutting, more so than normal....lol They also have the public/ leased lands are my land mindset.
G&F cut, maybe ,half the ranches from LO program this year & they do not know if they are in or out, yet. When they do know they will not be happy....hell they are not really happy now but don't know it. LOL
SO,with that in mind, the term "could" or "did get Western" Frisky" comes to mind.
Same amount of public lands to hunt with 3 times the tags now.
Do your desk scouting as BF says. Get your ducks in a row,plans in place. Many plans. One motel & very few decent camp spots.