Next step for load development - .223 Ruger American Predator

fattybinz

I’m doing some load development for one of my new rifles, a Ruger American Predator in .223. Using once-fired norma brass, Benchmark powder, Hornady 50gr vmax, Winchester primers. CBTO 1.848. I’ve shot a number of 5 shot groups and these are the results I’ve gotten (I shot some at 200 and some at 100):

Wondering what my next step should be. I'm thinking maybe load up some more 24.4s (maybe 24.3 and 24.5) to see if those results are repeatable. Maybe also load up 5 each of 25.7, 25.8,25.9 since the 1 moa 25.7 and 25.8 suggests there may be a node in there. I started getting pressure signs around 25.2gr. By 25.4gr I had minor cratering. The bolt moved no problem until the very last part of the lift when it stuck a bit. Is that a problem? Does that mean I shouldn't go past that? I was getting some medium cratering around that 25.7-25.8gr zone. I want to keep experimenting in that area but I'm new to this so I'm not sure if it is a bad idea with the relatively minor pressure signs I'm getting there. Any feedback would be appreciated.

If 24.4 holds up, that is about as good as I would expect from that gun. How did it shoot with factory loads? Is it still in the factory stock? Did you make sure you can fit a couple of dollar bills along the barrel to ensure free floated and not touching stock? We have one of these and a .223 non-predator base model and both required sanding of factory stock out near muzzle end. Eventually moved to Boyd’s stocks. Sanding helped some, bedded Boyd helped more. Also, velocity sd data would be useful in assessment in you have it.

Last edited: