Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Help a newbie find the to-the-lands length

fattybinz

I'm new to handloading and I'm having a difficult time finding what my maximum length is, both for my hunting rifle (Tikka t3x in 7 mag) and my for-fun range rifle (Ruger American Predator in 223 rem). I'm developing a load for the Ruger. I'd like to find out what the length to the lands of this rifle is so that I can play with my seating depths after finding a good chargeweight. I'm really confused about how to go about that. I'm using once-fired norma brass (resized and trimmed) and hornady 50gr vmax bullets. I bought a hornady lock-n-load length gauge with a 223 rem modified case. Followed the instructions of the gauge and watched a few youtube videos on how to use the gauge, including panhandle precision's. When I follow the instructions and push the gauge's rod in very lightly and slowly, I get measurements around 1.811-1.813 (I 'm measuring CBTO using a hornady comparator). When I apply more pressure to the rod, I get measurements between 1.825-1.828. I'm guessing the shorter measurement I got when pushing in gently is the one I should use, right? Here is where I get confused though. I also measured using another method...denting a fired case neck so it will put resistance on a bullet, putting a bullet in, chambering it, and then measuring the length. When doing this I consistently got lengths around 1.856. I tend to think the hornady gauge results are more reliable, but then I measured the cbto of some factory ammo (Norma Tac-223 55gr) that shoots .5" to .8" groups out of this rifle and the cbto of those rounds is about 1.848. If the hornady gauge is giving me the cbto to the lands (~1.811 or ~1.825), then how is this factory ammo longer than that? I thought factory ammo was made very short so that it wouldn't run into problems with any rifle's throat length. Does all of this suggest that the 1.856 length that the dented case neck method gives me is more reliable? I'm w