Leupold BX-4 Rangefinding Binoculars

My 2018 MT Elk Hunt- Pic Heavy

MTShane

I thought I would take some time to share my MT elk hunt story from this year. I was finally lucky enough to be drawn for a limited entry elk permit in my home state of Montana. Along with the usual excitement of drawing a special permit, I felt a lot of pressure because I knew this was going to be a tough hunt and wanted to do everything in my power to capitalize on it. I had a steep learning curve ahead of me because I had never actually hunted in this unit before and applied for this area somewhat on a whim. This hunt would also be taking place completely on public land and BMA’s.

I started making scouting trips in early May to learn the area and set up trail cams. I spent about 10 days scouting the unit throughout the summer. I’m a newb when it comes to trail cameras, so the results of the cams were disappointing and at times comical. Many of my cameras got dislodged in the first few days from elk rubbing on them. It was good news that I found where elk were frequenting, but I didn’t get many stellar pics of them. Here are some of the better ones:

1.jpg

IMG_1478.jpg

IMG_1527.jpg

Archery season rolled around, and I was pretty much treating it like another opportunity to scout. I was just trying to locate as many bulls as possible to know where to concentrate my efforts for rifle season and to know where to set my standards for a bull, if any. Overall, I spent about 12 days in the unit during archery season and felt like I had a decent grip on several areas that held good numbers of elk. Most of these places were areas along public/private boundaries. Here are some of the elk I found during archery season, they are poor quality photos because I was taking them through my spotting scope by just holding my phone up to it.

IMG_1623.jpg

Found this guy sound asleep:
IMG_1651.jpg

IMG_1657.jpg

IMG_1667.jpg

IMG_1688.jpg

IMG_1693.jpg