Muzzle Loader Questions

TimeOnTarget

I'm new to muzzle loaders and have a few easy questions for you vets. I picked up a CVA optima V2 while back. I'm really impressed with its accuracy using 100gr of 777 and 300gr hornady.

I'm sure I will go days or weeks without firing a shot.

What do you do with the load in the barrel?
How long do you leave it loaded?
How often do you replace the 209?

How often should the barrel be cleaned when shooting?

Anything else I'm missing?

Thanks Guys.

It's been a few years since I muzzleloader hunted so some things may have changed. I've had 2 muzzleloaders the first one I sighted it in a practices for. The season then cleaned it and fired 1 shot to foul it right before the season. Then left the powder and bullet in the muzzleloader for the season. Our season was only a week. I just pulled the primer between hunts.

The second muzzleloader I had. I cleaned every shot. That was the only way it shot consistently. I would leave the powder and bullet in place for the season and pull the primer between hunts like the other.

1. I leave it loaded.
2. Until I need to shoot it.
3. Never.
4. I run a wet patch through with a bore brush after every shot, followed by a dry one and then reload.
5. Something to shoot at!

When it is cold out DON'T lay your hands and or gloved hands on the hammer area or barrel. It will cause condensation getting the powder damp.

Unless you're in a wet/humid environment leaving it loaded for a bit isn't that big of an issue. 777 isn't as corrosive as Pyrodex and black powder. I try not to let the rifle change temps much...if it's super cold and you bring it inside you will get condensation which can lead to misfires, hang fires, or maybe nothing happens and gun goes off perfectly. I'd prefer to take that variable out of the equation so rifle either stays in the truck or garage.