Hunt Talk Radio - Look for it on your favorite Podcast platform

mrna and cwd?

Dougfirtree

This may sound like a stupid question, but I was just reading something about all the potential diseases that may be preventable with mrna vaccines and how the COVID vaccine research has launched us forward in terms of data and research, setting us up for something of a vaccine revolution.
Has anyone ever heard a reputable theory that CWD could be attacked in this way? I know there's been research into a vaccine for CWD... Just curious and I know there are some smart, plugged-in folks on here.

Vaccines that change your DNA, even though I'm no scientist, makes me leary. Personally waiting to see how this covid one plays out over time.
A3C74291-6736-4E21-8387-034050047834.jpeg

Last edited by a moderator:
CWD isn't caused by a virus. Its caused by a prion. Very different worlds.
True, but I'm not sure that the potential uses of mrna type vaccines are limited to viruses. Seems like it could potentially be used to combat almost anything capable of creating an immune response. I'm not sure whether deer have any immune response to CWD-causing prions, though.

From my minuscule knowledge, CWD and Alzheimer’s are similar in that prions cause essential proteins to denature. This is why it’s difficult to put a thumb on either.

True, but I'm not sure that the potential uses of mrna type vaccines are limited to viruses. Seems like it could potentially be used to combat almost anything capable of creating an immune response. I'm not sure whether deer have any immune response to CWD-causing prions, though.
They don't. The prions literally change the way that other proteins in the brain unfold. The biology is way way way different from viral or bacterial infections.

View attachment 183297