Motion sickness?

Pucky Freak

I have had a driving discomfort problem develop starting a couple year ago, and recently it has become much worse, to the point of being a barrier to future NR hunting trips.

The problem: When driving at 50+ mph I sometimes get this sensation that the vehicle is rocking or lurching dramatically L and R. When I watch the lines on the freeway I can verify that the vehicle is not actually lurching. It feels a bit like the steering wheel is not very responsive to the minor movements I make to keep the vehicle moving in a straight line. It feels like I do not have very good control of the vehicle, which is very uncomfortable when travelling at high speeds. The problem is worse when driving in a crosswind and gusts actually do move and rock the vehicle a little bit. If I am a passenger in the vehicle there is no problem at all. I've been driving for 24 years, and have never had any kind of issue previously.

This first started a couple years ago when driving cross-country on the interstate. It only resurfaced when driving long stretches on the interstate, like at least 2+ hours continuously. Before my WY trip last month I replaced the shocks on my truck, thinking this might help. It didn't. I also thought about getting a different vehicle to see if that helped. After I wrecked my truck last month I rented a 2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee to drive across NE and the problem was as bad as ever. I had to pull over and take breaks because it was so uncomfortable to drive at times. Sometimes I could drive comfortably for an hour or two, but other times it ranged from moderately to severely uncomfortable.

Now on my latest vehicle, Honda Accord, the problem is present more than half the time I get up to highway speed after just a few minutes. I can manage my short daily commute to work. However, any drive of 60+ miles now present a significant challenge.