Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

Managing Joint Inflammation (Long Term Strategies)

• Thread starter Deleted member 16014
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 16014

Alright all you hard chargers and old folks... ;)

I'm in my mid-30's and have some pretty substantial ankle inflammation, to the point it's causing cramping in my lower leg muscles 3-5 times per night. Thankfully I have kids so I'm not used to normal sleep anyway. Present in both feet but far worse in the right. Past and current factors include:
--Rolled and broke it playing basketball about 3 years ago
--Partially torn peroneal tendon (Dr. is not interested in starting "clean up" surgeries at my age, nor am I)
--Very high arches that strain tendon and ligament health
--Like most people, many turns/twists etc. from sports and thousands of hiking miles

I have been using custom orthotics for about 4 years, which helps in general. However, I have chronic, moderate to severe inflammation after any physical activity, including just a few mile walk. I'm not going to stop walking far and hunting hard so this is a pain and damage management issue, not looking for a "solution" because there isn't one. I'm very blessed in that my knees and other joints are holding up fine so far.

What do you do in terms of supplements, PT (particularly in ankles), or other things to help manage inflammation? If supplements, it must be something that's safe to take regularly and long term (i.e. I'm not going to take Ibuprofen every single day for the next 30 years).

Thanks for your tips and tricks!

It was football injuries for me. My bad knee has finally healed almost 10 years after the initial injury, but a daily Glucosamine supplement helped me for a long time. I also struggled with a bad peroneal tendon and some arch problem that caused some horrible shin splints. Aggressive stretching and foam rolling really helped me there.