“Long range” non custom rifle advice

huntin24/7

I’m looking at getting a new rifle in the next year, and I’m looking at increasing my shooting distance. This would be mostly for elk, and when I say long range, I mean around 500-600 yard max. I’m well aware that good ammo, lots of shooting practice, and good optics are as important as anything. That being said, any recommendations for the best rifle in the $1000ish price range. I’ve looked into the browning stalker and hells canyon long range, particularly the .300 win mag w/muzzle break, as my wife will be shooting too. I’ve always been a Remington fan too, but I’m open to different rifles and calibers. Any thoughts?

Any particular brand on the tikkas? Part of the reason I was looking into the browning was the muzzle break since my wife will be using it at times too, and I figured for elk at that range, something in the 7mm-300 is in order. I have a lot of hunting/shooting experience, but lm lacking experience on longer range shooting and rifle hunting elk.

Browning, Howa, and Tikka will all have some nice offerings in that range. Make sure you save enough to get a good scope on it.

If you want light recoil without sacrificing performance and a good range of ammunition, 6.5 CM, .270, or 7mm Rem Mag are all good choices.

Here are two threads that lay out common responses to the ever popular “which rifle/which cartridge” questions. With practice and a good tracking scope I don’t think your “up to 500-600y” goals changes much. Pick a rifle from near the top of the first list, and a cartridge from the second list and get to the range.

Last edited:
Any particular brand on the tikkas? Part of the reason I was looking into the browning was the muzzle break since my wife will be using it at times too, and I figured for elk at that range, something in the 7mm-300 is in order. I have a lot of hunting/shooting experience, but lm lacking experience on longer range shooting and rifle hunting elk.