ISO The Ever Elusive Perfect Venison Jerky Recipe

Wallow

I've been making venison jerky for a few years now - I use a Cabelas 10 tray dehydrator. I like sliced jerky better than ground and have a meat slicer. I've tried a lot of the commercial mixes and some are pretty good but am really trying to find a receipe I can mix on my own and not use nitrates. The last two recipes I tried were Sweet & Spicy from Meateater and The Best Beef Jerky from Gimme Some Oven. I didn't like the Meat Eater recipe as the orange peel ruined it. The Best Beef Jerky recipe was pretty good but too bland so I made a 5 lb batch last week to which I added two teaspoons of Cayenne powder to liven it up but it came out too hot. This recipe may still have merit and just need fine tuned with one more additional ingredients or bumping up one or more of the ingredients it already uses. Next time I'll do 3 variations instead of making the whole 5-6 pounds one way.

I know we all have different likes when it comes to our taste buds so there is no universal best recipe. But I was thinking if I gave some particulars of what I like maybe someone would have a recipe that would hit the nail on the head or maybe make a suggestion on a specific ingredient. Here goes: I do not want the seasonings to overpower the meat but don't want bland either, do not like hot stuff like tabasco & jalepenos, do like sweet stuff. I'm fine with blcak pepper, garlic powder and onion powder. I basically want a receipe that gives the meat some additonal flavor but doesn't overpower the taste of the meat like the orange peel did in the Meat Eater recipe. Also cayenne pepper is a no go or has to be in a very small amount.

Thanks in advance for the suggestions!

I use Claude's Brisket Marinade or Claude's Fajita Marinade. The brisket marinade has Hickory wood smoke, onion, garlic, black pepper, and dark red chile. Ingredients also list sugar and molasses, but it isn't sweet at all.