PEAX Equipment

Ideas on Point Collecting/Point Creep

Big Fin

Administrator
Staff member
I've been outlining this video for a couple years. I started out with over ten ideas, then I decided to cut it to just a handful. I talked about most of these in Post #26 of this thread - https://www.hunttalk.com/threads/what-to-do-with-8-wyoming-elk-points.317196/post-3526305

Anyhow, some food for thought. Not saying they would work, or if they would ever be accepted by "point collectors." And like I said on that other thread, if some of these passed, they might make a moot point of my idea of "No more buying points; you must apply for a hunt code."

Michael just posted it, so I will be interested to see if it raises the shit storm the last video created. Interested in ideas others have, or, is there even any interest in the things that contribute to "point collecting," which is a part of the complaint many have about point creep.

I agree with the exception of using points for discounted cow/doe/fawn tags. Those are population control tags and shouldn’t inhibit someone from using their points on a bull tag.
No. That's how point hogs happen. If your priority is to fill the freezer, you have to burn points. It is what it is when resources are limited. Leftovers after a draw then don't require points

Yah. I feel like ripping the proverbial band-aid off now and accepting that a few years of personal pain will result in a better future for us all is the best move.

The current system is untenable if you looking at it in terms of “will it ever get better in my lifetime.” Im thinking mostly of my son when I ponder hunting’s future, and I want a better system for his generation, and the others to come.

Yah. I feel like ripping the proverbial band-aid off now and accepting that a few years of personal pain will result in a better future for us all is the best move.