PEAX Equipment

I drew NM lope!! Whooo Hoooo!

schmalts

got tag 1-114 , Now just need to find out where the hell the lopes are in that NE corner of the state. Any of you NM'ers familiar with that big ass area? Tag covers the whole NE corner of the state! Never been out of elk country there so at a loss on where to start besides here.

Is that one of those one ranch only, 2 day tags ?
I passed through N.E. New Mexico on a train last year. Lots of lopes, the biggest ones were always with cows ! I mean right in with them, in the middle of a herd. Easy to spot but very hard to safely shoot.

Acon, it is a 3 day hunt. I am really not sure what the whole deal is until I have time to research out this thing later when i get home. I am new to the NM lope deal and not sure how it all works out but it looks like a lot of private land in that area.

Schmalts,

You will be assigned to a ranch ranging from 100-10,000 acres. Antelope are everywhere. Congrats on the tag.

That is what I thought when I applied, but was not sure since this was not my first choice I forgot what the details were.
Even if they assign me a ranch can I still go on public also??

Yes, you can hunt the lease holdings of that individual ranch. They will give you a detailed map with boundaries. Smallest one that I ever had to hunt on was about 60 acres, the largest would be about two sections, which is 1280 acres. (But many ranches are a lot bigger than that). Just depends on what your ranch assignment is.

I also drew the NM 1-114 tag

Does anybody know if the region is completely private or is there opportunities on public? Also what kind of antelope is average in this unit?

battle6644,

You will generally have the run of the entire ranch in which your tag is located, whether the land is public or private. It will generally be a ranch only or sometimes a multiple ranch tag.

From the proclamation:
Hunters will be given a map to assigned hunters notifying them of their assigned