How do you deal with ticks?

smitty661

I’m new to north Idaho and love it here so far. I went out for turkey yesterday and brushed several ticks off of my clothing and skin while out hiking around. When I got back to my truck and started driving I realized that I was actually covered in about 15-20 ticks. I pulled over and picked them all off. So today I cleaned my truck and vacuumed everything. I stopped to eat lunch at a restaurant and I see one crawling on my arm. I’m used to a few ticks here and there but this seems like it’s going to be a real issue here. What do you guys do to prevent Getting them on you or in your home and vehicles?

D4570

MinnesotaHunter

Nothing works better than permethrin. A few clothing companies are putting permethrin in the fabric. I can attest that it works great, and we have ticks from hell in south Texas. This is what I use.

https://gamehide.com/why-gamehide/elimitick/
I would be careful about paying a premium for permethrin treated clothing, as the treatment is generally only good for a specific number of washes.

Greyman

I would be careful about paying a premium for permethrin treated clothing, as the treatment is generally only good for a specific number of washes.
I got mine on clearance 2 years ago. It's still working. It's supposed to be good for 70 washes. They are gonna be torn and worn out before then.

OzzyDave

I’m a BIG tick attractant - they love me. A bunch of us use tea tree soap when we shower - ticks hate it. I’ve started using the permethrin and seems to work - hard to say it’s been so dry here.

ElkFever2

There are product out there that work. However, I prefer not to use any, as am not really a fan of chemicals. This means I meticulously comb through my belongings and person before getting back in the vehicle. It's gross, but occasionally I do miss one that turns up later on, especially if it's a small tick. Thanks for the tip on tea tree soap - I'll have to try that out.

MJE2083