Gastro Gnome - Eat Better Wherever

handgun/safety?? Am I overthinking this?

Bob-WY

Thanks to all the previous help on this site for picking my first handgun. We have narrowed down to a few and will be visiting a range to actually shoot some.

One thing that suprised me however is the lack of an external safety. Maybe I am over thinking, and I understand the internal safety process etc. but am "stuck" on no thumb safety on many of the guns. I know the logic, if your finger isn't on the trigger, it won't shoot, etc, but my brain is struggling to wrap my head around it. Am I over thinking this?

We have found a couple models with external/thumb safety, but some of the ones that feel best in our hand we can't find with an external safety

I’m no expert, but ya, you probably are overthinking it. Back when I took hunters Ed, in the class the definition of a safety was “a mechanical device that can and will fail.” Period. That’s it.

Absolutely, the first safety is keeping your booger hook off the pew pew button.

This is all relative though, at least for me. I don’t carry concealed, and when I do carry in the woods it’s a revolver. All pistols in my house are loaded, but also locked away.

What’s your intended use?

none of my three handguns have a safety.

when i concealed more often i really appreciated that feature honestly.

I personally fall in the camp of never carrying hot, and basically never using any safety. If that strategy costs me a second of response in a hunting or personal defense situation that's a tradeoff I'm willing to make. I know that's not how everyone feels and it doesn't meet every situational need, just how I do it.

So I completely understand. I still struggle with it. Guns I compete with, no safety. I went to double action for guns that I carry, although ty he first round will be just a noise maker. Trying to compete with guns that had a safety made me understand the down side of having it present.